19th October

Hey folks,

So, day one of my gym instructor course is complete; and my brain is fried! I’m totally exhausted to be honest. It’s been a long intense day, although went quite quickly.

Today we learnt about – Client consultations, inductions and warm ups. We did both theory and practical stuff, which was good. So much to learn though!! We were given homework to do tonight as well, which to be honest I struggled with a fair bit. We had to prepare a cv (cardiovascular) warm up and 1 preparatory stretch, as well as answer a bunch of questions in the practical assessment paperwork. Have done the warm up and prep stretch, and most of the questions. Myself and a couple of the other ladies on the course are getting there early in the morning to discuss the questions over coffee!

Everyone is really friendly, and the course instructor is lovely too (as mad as a hatter mind you, but that makes it fun!). The instructor is also going to be the one who assesses us as well, so it’s good to get to know her over this week. It’s a worry off my mind to know who will be assessing me to be honest. Rather than walking in blind and meeting a stranger.

So yeah, today has been a good day; when I first arrived I was super nervous, but the instructor soon put us at ease with an ice breaker. By the end of the day I was feeling more confident (if a little overwhelmed by it all!), and looking forward to the rest of the week. My assessment has been provisionally booked, but it’s subject to change! It’ll be the week beginning the 9th of November though. I wouldn’t say I’m dreading it, but I’m not looking forward to it either. There’s so much to make sure you cover, it really scares me to be honest. I’ve read through some of the assessment criteria to try and familiarise myself with it all, but at the moment it’s just going over my head! I’m going to practice it like crazy once it’s planned though. I think my hubby will be my test pilot for things like the consultation and introductions haha. The more I do it, the more it’ll be planted in my head, so hopefully I’ll remember it on the day! As we’re not allowed prompts or anything like that. All we can take into the assessment is our gym programme and the RPE scale. (Rate of perceived exertion). With the gym programme though, it’s only allowed to be the name of the exercise, no teaching points or anything like that, so it’s things I’ll need to remember off by heart! Argh, never been any good at that haha. Hopefully it’ll all fall into place though at some point….

I’m going to make the most of this week and learn as much as I can, and ask questions if I need to as well. I want to be as prepared as possible for my exam, as I really really really don’t want to refer. I want to pass it and move on to level 3. Which is even more in depth than what I’m doing now, which also scares me a little haha.

My diet hasn’t been amazing today, although am still within 1800 calories, but I’ve eaten things like chocolate brownies, chocolate bar and other such rubbish! So it’s not ideal. But it kept me going through the day which is what counts. I’m taking healthy snacks with me tomorrow, and being more prepared haha.

Anyway, that’s all from me for tonight. Need to get myself to bed and get as much sleep as possible for another intense day tomorrow. Bring it on!!

Thanks for reading as always, take care, stay strong and until next time….

x Sara Phoenix x

Leave a Reply

