15th June

Hey folks,

Today I have both done well and badly too; I smashed my gym workout this morning, but then I gave in on my quit smoking attempt. I feel really shitty about giving in, as I was so determined when I went to bed last night. I’m not sure why I did give in to be honest. It wasn’t because I was particularly stressed or in need of a cigarette, and I probably could have battled through the craving and gotten through it. But I didn’t. I failed. It’s my biggest weakness and something I really need to overcome if I’m going to be a Personal Trainer. I want to inspire people; I want to motivate them and for them to say “Because of you, I didn’t give up”; I want to help people reach their health and fitness goals. And I can’t do all that if I’m not at 100% fitness myself. What sort of an example would I be setting if I’m still smoking eh? A bad one, that’s for sure. So, with that said, this week I will crack it. I don’t know when, or how, but I will.

My workout was great this morning; I really pushed myself and did so much more than I usually do on a Monday. Here’s what I did:

I started with a quick 5 minute warm up on the rower, level 4, which burnt 50 calories.
Then I moved onto my strength training –

For Chest I did:
Chest Press Machine – M21’s – 4 sets @ 11kg
Chest Flys with 4kg Dumbbells – 4 x 10
Bench Press with 4kg Dumbbells – 4 x 10

For Shoulders:
Shoulder Press Machine – M21’s – 4 sets @ 9kg
Lateral Raises with 4kg Dumbbells – 4 x 10
Front Raises with 4kg Dumbbells – 4 x 10

For Biceps: (all with 4kg Dumbbells)
Bicep Curls 4 x 10
R Bicep Curls 4 x 10
Hammer Curls 4 x 10

By the end of it, my arms were like jelly! So a sign of a good workout!! Love it!

I thought today, as I’ve written it already, I would share my fitness journey with you; I’ve shared it on Facebook and had some really nice comments on it. So, here it is for you lovely folk!

I began my fitness journey back in March of this year; after a pretty sedentary lifestyle for about a year, I decided it was time to get my body back! I’d previously been a slim size 10 after a successful weight-loss journey on Slimming World. However, unforeseen circumstances and life then got in the way, and I really let things go. I regret doing so! But, that’s just life! Now, I’m back on it 100% and loving it. At the start I was just working out at home, using Shaun T’s Hip Hop Abs programme, which gave me the confidence to then join the gym. I joined the gym on 15th March. As soon as I joined, I got myself a personal trainer and really began my journey. Then that particular PT then left the gym and I felt a bit lost! But, luckily he set me up with a new PT and I haven’t looked back since. I’ve been with the new PT for 6 weeks now, and seeing results never ceases to amaze me. I work really hard and to see it paying off is a great feeling. There’s still a long way for me to go yet, but my focus and determined spirit will get me there. I’m loving my journey, learning so much about fitness and am constantly progressing in strength and ability. I’ve been following a calorie controlled diet, of 2000 calories a day, for 4 weeks now, and so far have lost (as of last weigh in 2 weeks ago) 2kg. Which for me is huge! I’m due for another weigh in next week, so am hoping to have lost even more. This journey is both exciting and a bit scary too, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I’ve become addicted to fitness!

So that’s my story 🙂

I think I will leave it there for today; not really got a lot else to say, other than thanks for reading folks, you’re all amazing. Take care, stay strong and until next time….

x Sara Phoenix x

Leave a Reply

