12th June

Hey folks,

Today has been both a day of achievements and fails! I achieved new things at the gym, as my PT was there and showed me a couple of new things I could do for my Triceps; but the last thing he showed me was the assisted pull up/dip machine. I left it until last, which may have been a mistake for a start! But I completely failed at it. I didn’t have the strength to pull myself up, or dip down either. It’s a lot harder than it looks, and it frustrated me a bit that I couldn’t do it! I’ve been going over it in my head ever since, and feeling disappointed in myself. However! I refuse to let it beat me, and see it as a something I can work on and eventually add to my achievements! I’m determined to do it, both the pull up and the dip. I just need to work on my upper body strength, and then give it another go! I can and I will, I won’t give up.

Here’s what I did accomplish though –

Warm-up Rower Level 4 for 5 minutes burning 49 calories

Dumbbells – 4kg
Shoulder Press – 3 sets of 20
Bent Over Row – 3 sets of 20

Used the cable machine for the first time, to do Tricep Extensions – Sets of 10 @ 14kg, 18kg, 23kg and 27kg

Instead of Tricep Kickbacks, I did Skull Crushers with a 10kg barbell – 4 sets of 10

Lat Raise M21’s – 9kg x3

Seated Dip M21’s – 18kg, 23kg, 27kg and 32kg.

So all in all, it was still a good workout, and my arms still feel rather like jelly as I’m typing this! Total calorie burn from strength training was approx. 148.

Tomorrow afternoon I have my PT session; I never know what to expect, which is always good! C changes it up every week, and always keeps it fresh and interesting. He’s a really good PT and I’m recommending him to everyone who asks me haha. It’s also weigh in tomorrow, and I believe another fitness test! (Not sure on the latter!) So am being really good with my calories today!! Coming in at just under the 2000 mark, but I did earn myself a few extra at the gym. I don’t always count them though, it depends how hungry I am!

I’m really proud of myself for how far I’ve come in the last couple of months. I’m training hard, really focused on my diet and fitness and loving it. Monday is my new quit smoking date! I’ve really got to do it, as it’s affecting my fitness levels I think. I’d be able to do so much more. I really wish I’d not started again, foolish that was. Ah well, I guess these things happen!

Anyway, I’m off to get my dinner now so will leave it there for today. Thanks for reading folks, you’re all awesome!

Take care, stay strong and until next time….

x Sara Phoenix x

Leave a Reply

