11th April

Hey folks,

I’m not quite sure what to write about tonight; every day I seem to struggle more and more with things to write about. Every day life is, well, just that really, life! Nothing especially blog-worthy to be honest. It’s been a good day today though, just chilled out with my lovely hubby; and we went for a nice walk too.

I am really excited though, as tomorrow is photo shoot day! There are of course some nerves bubbling under the surface as well, as I’ve never done anything like it before! I’m looking forward to it though, should be fun!

My mood is still good and upbeat, feeling a bit tired though, but overall fine and dandy.

Really struggling with this tonight folks! One thing I have been asked about, is my medication. Which is something that is integral to my day to day life. I couldn’t function without it, I know that for a fact. I was a disaster area before the Psychiatrist got my medication right; which took a while. I went through a couple of different combinations of medications, suffered terrible side effects with some of them too. But I persevered with whatever they threw at me, and eventually got the right mix.

I point blank refused to even entertain the idea of Lithium. I’ve just heard far too many horror stories of toxicity on that stuff, and I hate having blood tests, which is something I would of had to have regularly on it.

The combination that I’m currently on is Aripiprazole (Abilify) and Sertraline (Zoloft). The two combined seems to keep me stable and the side effects were minimal. The Abilify is an anti-psychotic and the Zoloft is an anti-depressant. I take one of each, every day. When I first started taking them, they knocked me out; I was fast asleep with in half an hour of taking them! But over time, my body started to adjust and I was fine on them. They do make me feel tired most of the time though, but now that I’m used to it, I can deal with that. I’ll take being a bit tired over being depressed or manic any day!

As far as the future is concerned, I’ll probably be on this combination for as long as it’s effective. I don’t know if over time, it’ll become less effective or not, but we shall see. I know that the Abilify may have to be changed or even stopped when I fall pregnant, as it’s harmful to the unborn baby. But we will cross that bridge when we come to it. At the moment, all is good!

So yeah, that’s a little about my medication. The reason I’m a functioning human being, haha!

Anyway, that’s really it for today. I’m off to watch a movie with the hubby 🙂 thanks for reading folks, hope it was at least a little interesting!

Take care, stay strong and until next time….

Positive-Thinking-Quotes

x Sara Phoenix x

Leave a Reply

