24th March

Hey folks,

Another good day in my world, although am feeling physically shattered!! I went to the gym this morning and did the Legs, Bums and Tums class, and there was a lot of planking type action! So, my arms are now broken haha. I did to my Shaun T this afternoon as well, although I bailed after the first dvd, instead of doing the two that I’m meant to. As I just hurt far too much, and didn’t want to cause an injury. I’m getting good at listening to my body and knowing when enough is enough. I’ve also cancelled the rest of my classes for this week, as I feel doing it alongside Shaun T is just too much, as all but one day for the rest of the week is two dvd’s!

I’ll start my own little gym workout next week, which should be interesting! Have decided to focus on my Cardio at the gym, and weights at home. As I’m still a little self-concious doing weights at the gym! I’ve only got 5lb dumbbells at home, but they’ll be enough, and have a couple of different workout routines to strengthen and tone my arms.

I’m really feeling good about all the fitness stuff that I’m doing though, it’s a positive step in my recovery to be honest. It’s taken a while, but my lungs are now beginning to clear all the crap out as well, as exercise has given me a really chesty cough! It was expected though, so I’m not worried.

Mood wise I’m feeling great, just need my body to catch up with that feeling! I’m not quite sure how I’ll get through the moves at Rock Choir tonight, it will definitely be a challenge! But I’m never one to back down from a challenge! 🙂

Today was CBT; it was a good session, and I’m feeling a lot more positive about tackling my OCD demons! We spoke about the goals that we set last session, and how I’ve done with those. Really well in actual fact! This will probably sound daft to most of you, but I can now open the mail without having to wash my hands afterwards! It’s a big step for me, and something I’m really proud of, no matter how daft it sounds! I’m also using less hand gel when travelling to and from town/the gym. Which is another big thing for me. It’s in my bag, kind of like a safety net, but I don’t reach for it at every given opportunity like I used to. Another big step in my fight, and something else to be proud of.

Overall, I’m feeling really proud of myself full stop just now. I’m fighting my OCD demons, I’ve jumped head first into fitness and loving it, I’ve quit smoking and I’m taking control of my diet. I’m impressed that I’ve not gained any weight since quitting smoking too, that’s definitely a good feeling. I’m trying to take every day as it comes though, and make the most of every minute. Life is too short to be worried about germs! Screw you OCD!

Anyway, that’s it from me for today, I’m going to take a nap before hubby gets home from work; a little pick me up before choir!

Thanks for reading folks; take care, stay strong and until next time….

x Sara Phoenix x

Leave a Reply

