4th January

Hey folks,

This post comes with mixed emotions tonight; first of all, I’m happy because today is my 2 year soberversary!!!!! Can’t quite believe it’s been that long since I last had alcohol. There’s times when I do miss it, and often think to myself “I could so go for a glass of wine about now…”, but the feeling soon passes when I remember how ill it made me back then. I don’t think that memory will ever go away to be honest.

Secondly, I’m rather hurt and upset about someone’s opinion of me. They messaged me on Facebook, in reply to my question of why had they deleted me, and their response really shocked me. I won’t post it all here, but I shall quote a small parts of it, the parts that upset me most:

“We actually find your posts upsetting and disturbing” and “constant barrage of what appear to be attention seeking statements”.

So I’m upsetting, disturbing and an attention seeker, for speaking about my feelings and being honest about how bipolar affects me! I must point out, that as a family they do deal with someone with bipolar, but seriously, that was hurtful! Whilst I understand that it’s not easy dealing with someone with bipolar, at the same time, I’m not aware of anything that I’ve posted that is either disturbing or attention seeking! That’s not what I’m all about at all. I share my thoughts and feelings, for the purpose of helping others to know they’re not alone and that someone else out there feels the way they may do. And I know for a fact that it’s helped others as well, the messages from people prove that. I’ve often been called an inspiration to others, and that makes me feel really good. But messages like that above, make me feel quite frankly like shit.

It’s that sort of thing that knocks me back, and makes me doubt everything I’m trying to achieve. I purposely set up a page on Facebook to share my blog, they didn’t have to like that. But to un-friend and block my main profile is just harsh. I keep the two very separate; okay so some days when I’m struggling I have updated my status as such, but that’s not for attention. It’s more to stop me going bat shit crazy with all the racing thoughts that go through my head sometimes. It’s better to get it out for me, than to dwell on it all. None of them though, could ever be deemed as disturbing in my opinion. Some of my blogs, perhaps. But as I said about the page, they don’t have to read it.

So I can now say I’ve lost another 4 so called friends because of who I am. An honest, struggling human being. Charming. I’ll deal with it and move on, like I always do. Doesn’t stop it hurting though. Considering the amount of time I’ve know those particular people and thought they cared about me; clearly not.

Sorry to go on about it, but it really put a black cloud over my day today. I woke up feeling great, celebrating my soberversary, and then bam! That message came through and I just felt shit.

In other news though, today is 270 days self harm free, and as always, I’m really proud of that. I’ve come a long way with it, and overcome some truly difficult urges. It was something I was determined to beat though, and I have. Yay me!!

Anyway, today is a PJ day with the hubby, watching all the original Batman movies, that’s been lush! So, with that said, I shall bring this post to a close; think I’ve ranted enough for tonight! Thanks as always for reading, and for the support and care, it means a lot to me.

Until next time…..

x Sara Phoenix x

8 thoughts on “4th January

  1. Congratulations! I have found through reading and somewhat a tiny personal experience, people tend to turn away from emotions, feelings, and even friends that make them see their true selves.

    Either way, you are an inspiration. I am closing in on 30 days sober here, and can’t wait for the day I can celebrate two years.

Leave a Reply

